List of All Golden Boot Winners in The History of Football From 1968 – 2022

List of All Golden Boot Winners in The History of Football From 1968 – 2022: At the end of the 2018/19 season, Lionel Messi won the Golden Boot for the sixth time. The Argentinean has scored 36 goals in the Spanish Championship. Messi won by 10 goals. The closest pursuer, Sampdoria forward Fabio Quagliarella, has scored 26 goals in the Italian championship. 

Messi’s record sixth award is a good reason to remember the history of the Golden Boot and list all the winners of the trophy. All Golden Boot winners in the history of the trophy.

The History of The Appearance of The “Golden Boot” 

The Golden Boot was founded by the French sports newspaper L’Equipe and Adidas in 1968. The award was presented to the top scorer in the UEFA-ranked championships. Initially, the organizers of the award did not take into account the differences in the level of national championships. 

The first winner of the Golden Boot was Benfica forward Eusebio, who scored 42 goals in the Portuguese championship. During his career, Eusebio won the prestigious award twice: in 1968 and in 1973. 

What Happened To The Award After 1991 

In 1991, L’Equipe refused to award the Golden Boot due to suspicions of fraud on the part of clubs, whose forwards claimed the prestigious trophy. Then the Cypriot Football Federation announced that the prize for the best scorer should go not to the striker of the Yugoslavian Crvena Zvezda Darko Panchev, but to the player of the national championship of Cyprus. 

According to the federation, the top scorer of the Cyprus championship has scored 40 goals. At the same time, according to official data, Panchev scored 34 goals during the season and was the most productive player in the Cyprus championship – 19 goals. As a result, Panchev received his award only 15 years later – in 2006. 

From 1992 to 1996, the trophy lost its official status and was awarded under the auspices of Adidas. Since 1997, the second organizer of the Golden Boot is the European Sports Magazines (ESM) association. ESM changed the system for determining the winner and returned the award to official status. 

According to the new rules, the number of goals scored was multiplied by the rating of the championship in which the player is playing, and the winner was determined by the number of points scored. A goal scored in the five strongest European championships, according to UEFA, was estimated at 2 points. 

The players of the teams from the championships ranked from 6th to 21st in the UEFA rankings received 1.5 points for each goal scored, the rest – 1 point. The system for determining the winner, adopted by the ESM, is still in effect. 

Record Holders of The “Golden Boot” 

Most often, Barcelona forward Lionel Messi won the prestigious trophy. At the moment, he has 6 awards. Messi is the first three-time, five-time, and six-time Golden Boot winner and the only player to have won an award in three consecutive seasons. In addition, Messi became the only player in Golden Boot history to score 50 goals in a season and score 100 points. This double record was set by Lionel in the 2011/2012 season. 

In second place in terms of the number of awards is Cristiano Ronaldo. The Portuguese forward for Juventus has won four trophies. Cristiano Ronaldo became the first four-time Golden Boot winner, winning his last trophy in 2015. Then, in the 2014/15 season, Cristiano played for Real Madrid and scored 48 goals in the Spanish championship, ahead of Lionel Messi by 5 goals.

Messi and Ronaldo are among the top three players to receive two Golden Boots in a row. Messi has won each trophy in the 2011/12 and 2012/13 seasons, as well as in the 2016/17 and 2017/18, 2017/18, and 2018/19 seasons. Ronaldo received the prize in the seasons 2013/14 and 2014/15.

Also, two trophies in a row were received by the French forward Thierry Henry – in the seasons 2003/04 and 2004/05. Then Henri played in London “Arsenal” and scored 30 and 25 goals, respectively. 

Messi and Ronaldo are the only players to have won more than two awards. Eight players received two Golden Boots: Gerd Müller (1970 and 1972), Dudu Djordgescu (1975, 1977), Eusebio (1968, 1973), Thierry Henry (2004, 2005), Diego Forlán (2005, 2009), Luis Suarez (2014, 2016), Fernando Gomes (1983, 1985), Mario Jardel (1999, 2002).

Golden Boot Facts 

  • Most often, Barcelona players received the award – 8 times. In second place is Real Madrid with 4 trophies. Three awards for Real were won by Cristiano Ronaldo and one by Hugo Sánchez, the Mexican striker who won the prize in 1990.
  • Most often, players from the Spanish championship became the owners of the prestigious Golden Boot football award. From 1968 to 2019, La Liga footballers received 15 trophies. In second place are the players representing the Portuguese championship with 7 prizes, in the third place are the football players of the English championship with 6 trophies.
  • Among the owners of the “Golden Boot” most all Portuguese footballers. Representatives of this nationality received the award most often – 8 times.
  • In 1990, 2005 and 2014 two players received the Golden Boot. In 1990, Hristo Stoichkov and Hugo Sánchez were awarded, in 2005 – Thierry Henry and Diego Forlan, in 2014 – Cristiano Ronaldo and Luis Suarez.
  • How Many Trophies Has Ronaldo Won in His Career

List of All Golden Boot Winners Throughout The History

1969Petar ZhekovCSKA (Sofia)36
1970Gerd MüllerBayern Munich38
1971Yosip SkoblarOlympic Marseille44
1972Gerd MüllerBayern Munich40
1974Hector YasaldeSporting (Lisbon)46
1975Dudu DjordjescuDynamo Bucharest33
1976Sotiris Kaiafas“Omonia”39
1977Dudu Djordjescu Dynamo Bucharest47
1978Hans Krankl “Rapid”41
1979Kes KistAZ’6734
1980Erwin VandenbergLierse39
1981Georgy Slavkov“Trakia”31
1982Wim Kieft“Ajax”32
1983Fernando GomesPorto36
1984Ian Rush“Liverpool”32
1985Fernando GomesPorto39
1986Marco Van Basten“Ajax”37
1987Rodion Camataru 
(stripped of his award) 
Dynamo Bucharest44
Tony Polster“Austria”39
1988Tanju Colak“Galatasaray”39
1989Doreen MateuszDynamo Bucharest43
1990Hristo StoichkovCSKA (Sofia)38
Hugo Sanchez“Real Madrid)
1991Darko Panchev“Red Star”34
1997Ronaldo Barcelona68
1998Nikos Makhlas“Vitesse”68
1999Mario JardelPorto54
2000Kevin PhillipsSunderland60
2001Henrik LarssonCeltic52.5
2002Mario JardelSporting (Lisbon)63
2003Roy Makai“Deportivo La Coruna” 58
2004Thierry Henry“Arsenal” 60
2005Thierry Henry“Arsenal” 50
Diego ForlanVillarreal 
2006Luca TonyFiorentina62
2007Francesco Totti“Roma” 52
2008Cristiano Ronaldo“Manchester United”62
2009Diego ForlanAtlético Madrid64
2010Lionel MessiBarcelona 68
2011Cristiano Ronaldo“Real Madrid)80
2012Lionel MessiBarcelona 100
2013Lionel MessiBarcelona 92
2014Cristiano Ronaldo“Real Madrid)62
Luis Suarez“Liverpool”
2015Cristiano Ronaldo“Real Madrid)96
2016Luis SuarezBarcelona 80
2017Lionel MessiBarcelona 74
2018Lionel MessiBarcelona 68
2019Lionel MessiBarcelona 72
2020Ciro ImmobileLazio72
2021Robert LewandowskiBayern München82
2022*Robert LewandowskiBayern München64

* The list did not include Golden Boot winners from 1992 to 1996 when the trophy was unofficial.

Rate this post

Related Articles


Comments are closed.

Related Articles

Latest Articles

Rate this post