All Information About The Golden Boot Goal Scorer Prize

The golden shoe is awarded every year to the most successful goalscorer of the season. We have summarized the rules of the competition as well as its history, the most recent award winners, and record holders. All information about the Golden Shoe can be found here at a glance. So here is All information about the Golden Boot goal scorer prize.

What is the Golden Shoe?

The Golden Shoe is an award launched by the French magazine France Football. The trophy is intended to award the most successful goalscorer in Europe.

Nowadays the association “European Sports Media” awards the award. Renowned sports magazines from all over Europe belong to it. Germany is represented by the FAZ and the kicker.

When Was The Golden Shoe Introduced?

The first golden shoe was awarded after the season of 1967/68. The award is celebrating its 50th anniversary after this season.

However, the trophy was not awarded between 1992 and 1996 – after that, with new calculation criteria.

Who Was The First Winner of The Golden Shoe?

The first-ever golden shoe was won by the Portuguese Eusebio. During his time at Benfica Lisbon, the “Pantera Negra” ensuring the most successful period in the club’s history.

Five years later, the born Mozambican was able to repeat the triumph.

How is The Golden Shoe Winner Determined?

When the award was introduced, it was all about the number of goals a player had scored in each season. The only restriction: It had to be the first division in a European country.

After the rules were changed between 1992 and 1996, a point system based on the five-year rating of UEFA now applies. In the five best leagues, the goals scored are multiplied by two, in leagues 6-22 by a factor of 1.5 and in all leagues below the goals are single.

Why Were The Golden Shoe Criteria Changed?

This should prevent too often players from weak leagues win the award. The idea behind this is that it is harder to score goals in Spain than in Estonia, for example.

As a result of the rule change, most of the current winners will come from the Premier League or the Primera Division. Had it not been for the change, another player would have been honored in 14 out of 20 years. Including the German Rainer Kauffmann, who scored 42 goals for Omonia Nicosia in Cyprus in 1997/98.

Who Are The Record Winners of The Golden Shoe?

So far, only ten players have ever won the Golden Shoe more than once. Fernando Gomes, Mario Jardel, Diego Forlan, Thierry Henry, and Luis Suarez call two trophies their own.

However, eternal opponents Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi jointly hold the record for most shoes. Both were able to secure the coveted trophy four times (within the last eleven years).

All Winners of The Golden Shoe At A Glance

Season Player Society Gates
1967/68 Eusebio Benfica Lisbon 42
68/69 Petar Shekov CSKA Sofia 36
69/70 Gerd Müller FC Bayern Munich 38
70/71 Josip Skoblar Olympique Marseille 44
71/72 Gerd Müller FC Bayern Munich 40
72/73 Eusebio Benfica Lisbon 40
73/74 Hector Yazalde Sporting Lisbon 46
74/75 Dudu Georgescu Dinamo Bucharest 33
75/76 Sotiris Kaiafas Omonia Nicosia 39
76/77 Dudu Georgescu Dinamo Bucharest 47
77/78 Hans Krankl SK Rapid Vienna 41
78/79 Kees Kist AZ Alkmaar 34
79/80 Erwin Vandenbergh Lierse SK 39
80/81 Georgi Slavkov Botev Plovdiv 31
81/82 Wim Kieft Ajax Amsterdam 32
82/83 Fernando Gomes FC Porto 36
83/84 Ian Rush Liverpool FC 32
84/85 Fernando Gomes FC Porto 39
85/86 Marco van Basten Ajax Amsterdam 37
86/87 Anton upholstery FK Austria Vienna 39
87/88 Tanju Colak Galatasaray Istanbul 39
88/89 Dorin Mateut Dinamo Bucharest 43
89/90 Hugo Sanchez

Christo Stoitschkow

real Madrid

CSKA Sofia



90/91 Darko Pancev Red Star Belgrade 34
No award between 92-96 / conversion of goals to points
96/97 Ronaldo FC Barcelona 68
97/98 Nikolaos Machlas Vitesse Arnhem 68
98/99 Mario Jardel FC Porto 72
1999/2000 Kevin Philipps Sunderland AFC 60
00/01 Henrik Larsson Celtic Glasgow 52.5
01/02 Mario Jardel Sporting Lisbon 63
02/03 Roy Makaay Deportivo La Coruna 58
03/04 Thierry Henry Arsenal FC 60
04/05 Thierry Henry

Diego Forlan

Arsenal FC

FC Villareal



05/06 Luca Toni AC Florence 62
06/07 Francesco Totti AS Roma 52
07/08 Cristiano Ronaldo Manchester United 62
08/09 Diego Forlan Atletico Madrid 64
09/10 Lionel Messi FC Barcelona 68
10/11 Cristiano Ronaldo real Madrid 80
11/12 Lionel Messi FC Barcelona 100
12/13 Lionel Messi FC Barcelona 92
13/14 Luis Suarez

Cristiano Ronaldo

Liverpool FC

real Madrid



14/15 Cristiano Ronaldo real Madrid 96
15/16 Luis Suarez FC Barcelona 80
16/17 Lionel Messi FC Barcelona 74

Which German won the Golden Shoe award?

The only German who has so far been able to enter the list of award winners is Gerd Müller.

The “Bomber” achieved this feat in the 1969/70 and 71/72 seasons with 38 and 40 goals respectively.

Which Bundesliga players won the golden shoe?

Apart from Gerd Müller, no Bundesliga player has ever won the golden shoe. Müller won both of his awards as a Bayern Munich player.

Also, read; The 2022 World Cup in Qatar

Rate this post

Related Articles

Related Articles

Latest Articles

Rate this post